The Seven Chakras Beginners Guide

Posted on 2018-09-20

Chakras for beginners

In this beginners guide to the chakra system, our goal is to get you an overview of the different main chakras. There are seven different types of chakras in the human body. Each of the seven chakras has a different type of energy. These seven chakras hold the energies in our bodies and help those energies move around our body.

Though, at the same time…

A person's chakras can also be blocked, meaning that the seven chakras are not open and don't perform to serve a person well. All of the seven chakras are important to have a happy and healthy life.

Before we get into what each of the seven chakras is (and what type of energy each of the seven chakras are), let us first look at what chakras are and where those chakra beliefs originated from.

What Are Chakras? And Where Did Chakras Originate From?

As you have learned, chakras are energy, specifically, chakras are points in the human bodies where energy is stored and where the same energy flows from. There are seven of these chakra points throughout the body. The places in the body where the chakras can be found in the body are:

  1. The Root Chakra (which is located at the base of the spine)

  2. The Sacral Chakra (which is located at the belly, just below the button)

  3. The Solar Plexus Chakra (which is located at the rib cage)

  4. The Heart Chakra (which is located at the heart)

  5. The Throat Chakra (found at the throat)

  6. The Third Eye Chakra (is found just above the eyes, in the middle of the eyes)

  7. The Crown Chakra (which is located at the forehead, in the middle)

All of these are points in the body where energy comes from and is stored. These seven chakras are represented by different colors.

  • The Root Chakra is represented by red.

  • The Sacral Chakra is represented by orange.

  • The Solar Plexus Chakra is represented by yellow.

  • The Heart Chakra is represented by green.

  • The Throat Chakra is represented by a light blue color.

  • The Third Eye Chakra is represented by a darker blue color.

  • The Crown Chakra is represented by a purple color.

The different colors of the chakras are there to represent different colors of the rainbow. The different colors are there as a representation of a different frequency in Yoga. Each of the colors represents a different frequency and represents a different energy. The chakras will perform their own different energy frequency.

Each of the colors is a symbol of different meanings.

1st chakra - The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is represented by red. The red is a symbol of many different things, it is a representation of Earth energy. It is also a representation of things like safety and survival. Like the color of red is a symbol of strength, the Root Chakra is also a symbol of strength.

  • Survival instinct

  • Security

  • Grounding

2nd chakra - The Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is a symbol of a few different things.

With its location at the bottom of the spine…

This chakra is a symbol of sexuality. It is also a symbol of creativity and emotions. A healthy Sacral Chakra will mean a healthy balance of emotions and also a healthy flow of emotions. It's no coincidence, therefore, that this chakra is also symbolic of the element water. Water is an element which influences our emotions. Like water, the Sacral Chakras also influence our emotions.

  • Emotions

  • Intimacy

  • Sexuality

3rd chakra - The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra is another chakra which is symbolic of strength. This chakra can be seen as symbolic of the sun, and therefore a symbol of strength. Like the sun, the Solar Plexus Chakra is a symbol of power, more specifically, this chakra is a symbol of personal power. It is also responsible for your mind - so having a healthy Solar Plexus Charka, is having a healthy mind. It can also be symbolic of intelligence, academics, and willpower.

  • Energy

  • Vitality

  • Desire and Power

4th chakra - The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is symbolic of love and romance. It is also a symbol of compassion and empathy. Having an open heart chakra will mean being open to love, romance, compassion and empathy. The colour of this chakra is green, which can be symbolic of the Earth, therefore connecting to the Earth and showing all of us are interconnected.

  • Love

  • Hope

  • Compassion

5th Chakra - The Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is symbolic of many different things. One thing that it is symbolic of, which isn't surprising, is that this chakra is a representation of communication. It is also symbolic of a person's self-expression. And, the Throat Chakra due to its symbolic representation of self-expression, can also be a symbol of creativity and a person's creativity.

  • Healing

  • Creativity

  • Communication

6th chakra - The Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is symbolic of wisdom. Its location is right at the center of our forehead, representing the area where we think and reason - it is a representation for the wisdom that comes from within us. This chakra is about more than just representing wisdom, it also represents other things - such as our intuitive being. It is a representative of our intuition. Having an open Third Eye Chakra can help us have an open intuition and help us to become more connected to our intuition.

  • Intuition

  • Psychic Senses

  • Clairvoyance

7th chakra - The Crown Chakra

This is the seventh chakra that is located at the top of the head. The crown chakra allows us to access the higher states of consciousness while we open to the things past our personal visions and preoccupations. Our consciousness drives the function of the crown chakra, and this helps us to be in touch with the universe.

  • Cosmic consciousness

  • Understanding

  • Enlightenment

The Seven Chakras At Work

These seven chakras work independently to give you certain functions, they also work together, to give you an overall living being. If your chakras are working healthily and they are working correctly, then the Chakras will work to serve you well, they will work to serve you in the best way possible. If you open your chakras you will have a more spiritual and peaceful life.

But how exactly do you open your chakras?

If you are new to chakras, then you might be wondering how you open your chakras? So, how do you open the chakras? To open your chakras you want to first get a quiet place, this is so that you can focus on the task at hand. Tune into your body, tune into how your body feels. Do you feel relaxed and peaceful? If not, try and get to a place that you are relaxed. When you've finally become relaxed, you want to focus on each chakra area.

You will want to focus on each chakra area and focus on the color of the chakra - also focus on a bright yellow light. Imagine this light being open, imagine your chakras being open. Do this with each of your chakras until you feel good about and get the energy flowing.

Previous Sivananda Lineage and yoga styles
Next Ardha Chandrasana - Half moon pose

Comment / read all comments